Foxen Cyn Q&A

Emotion Wave
2 min readFeb 2, 2021

--

Cracking Up — by Foxen Cyn

Tell us a bit about Foxen Cyn, is this Sean or more of a persona?

I’d say it’s more just a stronger Robinson’s cordial without water version of myself. There’s obviously a bit of acting while I’m on stage, but I’m not method like Daniel Day-Lewis or Eddie Murphy. I might develop into more of a persona at some point, but I’m not going to spin a daft yarn just to seem more interesting because I’m gorgeous enough anyway.

What/who are your influences?

Always a bit difficult to decide really, because I don’t actively think of other musicians or anything when I’m writing or recording. I’ve been listening to a lot of outsider artists lately, there’s a dead good compilation called Songs in the Key of Z, and that always gets my juices in the drip tray. I’d say on a wider spectrum, Vic and Bob, Juno Birch, Yoshitaka Amano, Suzanne Ciani and the Knife, but I try to incorporate a big wide load of all different bits and bobs in where I can, like a lovely Cadbury’s Selection Box or a large Thornton’s Continental. Like the big one that”s about £8 in ASDA.

How did you get into making music?

When I was a little boy, all that time ago, I had big dreams of Hollywood Boulevard, a fridge full of Lilt, social events rubbing elbows with the likes of Roy Keane and Joni Mitchell, eating hot tomato straight from the vine. It was then I decided to go to Liverpool City Council subsidized clarinet lessons in Blessed Sacrament Junior School, guitar lessons being fully booked at the time. I just sort of slowly fell into getting more and more into music and different instruments, and being in a band was a done thing at the time. None of it was a conscious decision, really. I like it though :^)

Have you got anything else in the pipeline?

Yeah I’ve got about 7 gigs that need to be rescheduled so look forward to them NEVER. I’m working on some more stuff of my own, hopefully I’ll be able to get another little release coming out in a few months. I’m going to be mixing a few projects for things I’m involved in soon, and there’s a tentative release from Cargo Cult, who I play bass for, on the horizon, so don’t forget to subscribe to my RSS feed.

Foxen Cyn’s debut single ‘cracking Up’ is available now at: https://emotionwave.bandcamp.com/track/cracking-up

--

--

Emotion Wave

A community of experimental electronic/instrumental musicians from Liverpool and beyond.